USDA new ineligible areas effective February 2, 2015

USDA properties in eligible and ineligible areas in NC
USDA properties in eligible and ineligible areas in NC

In North Carolina, eligible rural areas for USDA housing programs will be adjusted in certain areas on February 2, 2015. New ineligible areas will include: Areas adjacent to the current ineligible area of Jacksonville, NC; Greenville, NC; Rocky Mount, NC; Goldsboro, NC; Raleigh, NC; Greensboro, NC; and Charlotte, NC.

On December 16, 2014, President Barack Obama signed into law H.R. 83, the Consolidated and Further Continuing Appropriations Act, 2015(Act), which provides fiscal year 2015 full-year appropriations through September 30, 2015, for all agencies except the Department of Homeland Security. With the signing of this Act, Rural Development will implement the eligibility maps in accordance with the Agricultural Act of 2014, Pub. L.113-79 (“Farm Bill”) on February 2, 2015.

USDA Rural Development maintains details maps on the USDA Income and Property Eligibility Site to indicate the boundaries of eligible areas and to determine whether specific properties meet the rural area requirement for USDA Rural Housing Program support.

To determine whether a specific property will be located within the boundaries of an eligible area, see our easy to follow instructions here.

Applications for properties in areas to become ineligible onFebruary 2, 2015, will be evaluated for funding consideration only if all required application materials are complete and fully submitted to USDA prior to February 2, 2015.

The North Carolina ineligible area maps based on the above changes are published on the “Future Eligible Areas” maps posted on the Eligibility Website,

To learn more about USDA Rural Development’s Single Family Housing Programs in North Carolina, or to contact a local office, please visit our USDA webpage

Team Move lends in areas such as Wilmington, Leland, Hampstead, Jacksonville, Camp Lejeune, Whiteville, Shallotte, Southport, Elizabethtown, Lumberton, Fort Bragg, Pope Air Force Base, Fayetteville, Rockingham, Raleigh, Garner, Smithfield, Clayton, Goldsboro, Charlotte, Greensboro, Winston-Salem, Durham, Chapel Hill, Burgaw, Castle Hayne, Holden Beach, Supply, Ocean Isle Beach, Sunset Beach, Hubert, Tabor City, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach, Laurinburg, Topsail Beach, North Topsail Beach, Surf City, Sneads Ferry, Richlands, Wrightsville Beach, New Bern, Oak Island, Saint James, Wallace, as well as the rest of NC.  North Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, Conway, Loris, Little River, Longs, as well as the rest of South Carolina and Virginia.

Written By: Russell Smith